Welcome Visitor
Today is Sunday, April 5, 2020

49th Annual Polar Bear Race....Abrrrrrrrrreviated!

Asbury Park:  Shore Athletic Club's 49th Annual Polar Bear Race was run under brrrrrrrutal weather conditions.   Thirty degree temps with winds whipping up however didn't discourage 200 or so runners and walkers for the annual event in Asbury Park.   Some run for fun while for others it's "the annual call to duty”.

The Sandy battered boardwalk limited the event to a 5K that had been planned to be a 5-Mile. The earlier 10-Mile Racewalk became a 10K in deference to the 30 degree temps and winds gusting well above 30 mph, and whipping to near 50 by finish time.

Speedster Andrew Brodeur of Brick took first in the 5-K Race with a start to finish victory, and a 16:47 time.   He held a strong lead over Dwayne Penny Alexis of Brooklyn at 18:15. Patrick Sheehan of Mooresville, N.J. was a close third with an 18:30 time.

The women’s race was a closer contest overall. Nicole Corre of Red Bank ran a strong race against the elements. Her 22:13 time was closely followed by Caitlin Dorgan, also of Red Bank, at 22:26, and Little Silver’s Dawn Wilcox at 22:30.

The 10K Racewalk Event was cut from a 10 mile event.  Bill Vayo from White Plains won with 58 minutes, 32 seconds. He finished second last year in the 10-Mile.   Long Branch’s Maria Paul finished in 107.22 with her steady, strong pace, typical of her familiar style.

Shore AC’s Elliott Denman, who started the Polar Bear nearly 5 decades ago, directed the Racewalk event.  A new Race Director, Shannon Gillespie of Neptune, did a great job of managing the shortened and unusual course layout “constructed” at the last minute to adjust for the difficult running weather.

Here are the Word on the Shore finishers of the Polar Bear 5K:

Andrew Dombrowiecki 19:02, Ocean; Dorothy Connor 22:25 and John Connelly 23:45, Oakhurst; Jaclyn Dagnall 24:16, Long Branch; Dana Jacoby 24:19, Monmouth Beach; Michael Dombrowiecki 24:24, Ocean; Mike Washakowski 25:06 and Jack Quinn 25:09, Ocean; Alan Menaged 25:16, Elberon; M.J. Dorony 25:33, Oakhurst; Paul Deykerhoff 26:35, Little Silver; Jeff Ragle 26:37, Ocean; Kyle Dorony 26:54 and Peter Lawlor 27:13, Oakhurst; Michelle Montefinese 27:16 and Allie Montefinese 27:48, Eatontown; Paul Marmura 28:14, Ocean; Stuart Newman 28:24, Oakhurst; John Rooney 29:51, Long Branch; Paul Carroll 30:11, Shrewsbury; Carl Turner 30:28 and Chris Kautz 30:34, Wanamassa; Stephen Fratini 30:43, Eatontown; Laurie Poulos 31:10, Oceanport; Andrea Alcott 31:11, Eatontown; Marilyn Ryder 32:07, Long Branch; Joe Freeman 36:29, Eatontown; Justin Dickstein 45:33, Long Branch.

Results were compiled by Elite Racing Systems

Read more from: Top Stories

Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: