Welcome Visitor
Today is Tuesday, February 18, 2020

RBC - Vince Lombardi Team of the Year


Eatontown:  The 27 top football linemen from Burlington, Monmouth and Ocean County high schools were recognized for their athletic achievements on the gridiron at the 42nd Annual Vince Lombardi Awards Banquet at the Sheraton Hotel on March 6, 2014.

The event is sponsored each year by the Rotary Clubs of Monmouth County.  

In addition to the athletes, the event honored Rumson-Fair Haven HS Bryan Batchler   as the Victor Kubu Memorial Coach of the Year.

“Team of the Year Award” went to Red Bank Catholic’s “Caseys” of the 2013 Shore Conference Class “A” Division.

The John Tuggle Memorial Award for “overcoming adversity, meeting the challenge and succeeding” at the varsity level was awarded to Tyler Fischer, Holmdel High School.

Local award recipients were: Juan Martinez, Long Branch; Rashad Battle, Monmouth Regional; John Walsh, Ocean Township; Chris Okupski, Shore Regional; Quenton Nelson, Red Bank Catholic; Dylan DeVita, Red Bank Regional; Dan Morea, Rumson Fair Haven HS; Brandon Furrer, St. John Vianney.

Each player received a “Block of Granite Award” trophy symbolic of Vince Lombardi’s career as a member of the 1936 Fordham University offensive line team nicknamed the “Seven Blocks of Granite” Lombardi was also the NFL coach of the Green Bay Packers.

The Rotary Club of Houston established the symbolic award in 1970. Asbury Park Rotarian Tom Price emceed the event. Guest speakers were Head Coach Kevin Callahan, Monmouth University; Mitch Browning, offensive line coach at Rutgers U.; and Tim wright, starting tight end for the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, who is from Wall.


Read more from: Eatontown

Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: