Welcome Visitor
Today is Saturday, January 18, 2020

Red Bank Regional Ed. Foundation Hall of Fame 2012

Mayor Robert Neff and RBR Principal Risa Clay on hand to honor inductees

Little Silver:  Each year, the Red Bank Regional Education Foundation identifies previous graduates and they join the ranks of the Alumni Hall of Fame.  The Education Foundation has sponsored the Hall of Fame event for the past 10 years; the inductees from this year will join 94 individuals previously inducted.

The RBREF is a non-profit organization; their mission is to raise funds to support grants that benefit the students of RBR in a fiscally tight economic environment.  Over the past three years, the Foundation has donated $69,000 to RBRHS’s educational programs.

This year students in the Creative Writing Program wrote and presented the introductions of each of the distinguished honorees to family, friends and the freshman class at RBRHS.  The honorees included:

David D. Dillion from the Class of 1950, insurance executive and actor

The Honorable Daniel M. Waldman Class of 1963, retired Superior Court Judge

John Garofalo from the Class of 1969, civic engineer, small business owner and long time RBR Board member and President

Jane R. Denny from the Class of 1970, educator and Director of Education for the Brookdale Center for the Holocaust

Robert H. Sickles from the Class of 1974, award-winning owner and operator of Sickles Market in Little Silver

Daniel J. O’Hern Jr., Esq., from the Class of 1979, attorney and Little Silver Borough Councilman

Pim Van Hemmen, from the Class of 1980, Pulitzer-winning photo journalist and preservationist

C. Darryl Hughes, from the Class of 1983, health services executive with Meridian Health

Andrew E. Forrest, from the Class of 1998, English Teacher at Red Bank Regional HS

The RBRHS Culinary Club under the direction of Chef Pete Roskowinski created and served a delightful luncheon buffet, while students from the VPA, under the direction of Camille Thompson provided musical entertainment.

Jacqueline Caruso-Smith, Chair of the Event summed up the event best in her comments, “Congratulations to all of our honorees and thank you for being excellent role models for our current students”.

Read more from: Top Stories

Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: